Common European Framework of Reference for Languages

Discuss Earth was created based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF or CEFR). We currently have 3 levels, beginner (basic), intermediate (independent) and advanced (proficient).

CEFR Levels

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF or CEFR) was put together by the Council of Europe as a way of standardising the levels of language exams in different regions. It is very widely used internationally and all important exams are mapped to the CEFR.

There are six levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2. These are shown below. Please click on each level to read an explanation of the can do statements.







I can understand familiar names, words and very simple sentences, for example on notices and posters or in catalogues.



I can read very short, simple texts. I can find specific, predictable information in simple everyday material such as advertisements, prospectuses, menus and timetables and I can understand short simple personal letters


Threshold or intermediate

I can understand texts that consist mainly of high frequency everyday or job-related language. I can understand the description of events, feelings and wishes in personal letters


Vantage or upper intermediate

I can read articles and reports concerned with contemporary problems in which the writers adopt particular stances or viewpoints. I can understand contemporary literary prose.


Effective operational proficiency

I can understand long and complex factual and literary texts, appreciating distinctions of style. I can understand specialised articles and longer technical instructions, even when they do not relate to my field.


Mastery or proficiency

I can read with ease virtually all forms of the written language, including abstract, structurally or linguistically complex texts such as manuals, specialised articles and literary works.

The table below compares the various English Proficiency Tests